wayward-brizzy
Newly Registered

ficus retusa- brown, curling leaves

I bought a ficus retusa at my local grocery store about two days ago. When I bought it it was in great health, I am new to bonsais but not to gardening. The leaves are browning now though and curling at an alarming rate. I currently have it beside my fish tank for the humidity. The soil is moist but not wet, I use the chop stick water method for all my plants. After doing a good amount of research it has become apparent that I need a larger pot once spring hits, I'd do it now but its too cold and its condition is not the greatest. I am not sure where to put it exactly due to it being winter and I have no east or west facing windows. I have checked it for bugs, and fungus on the leaves and there is no signs, I am apprehensive about pulling it out of the pot to check the roots as it is cold here and I do not want to cause any additional stress to the plant.

What would cause my leaves to brown and curl that quickly, and is there anything more I can do to help it? I really don't want to lose it.

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Figs shed leaves when light levels or humidity change.

More than protect its humidity level, get it in strong light and let it settle in.

It will grow a new set of leaves.

Learn how to water by chop-stick method, its in the learning forum here.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

You said you already do water by the chopstick method.

Tom is right that ficus is famous for easily dropping its leaves when conditions change. But since I have a full sized ficus, which did some of that this fall when it was brought indoors, I can say that they just fall. They may be green when they fall or they may yellow some, but they aren't brown and aren't curled. I think browning and curling is something else.

It sounds diseased. And since you say you only had this tree for two days, it sounds like it was already diseased when you bought it, just not as obvious yet.

I did find this: