floraAdore

Beginner- cherry

I'm fairly new to bonsai. I bought my 3rd tree, a cherry, after keeping my 2 Serissa healthy & happy for 1/2 a year. These are "pre-bonsai". A few questions:
1 Serissa become "bushy" at top, w/ no definite leader, upon wiring (my 1st try!) I used rubber coated copper to swing the best candidate upward. Looks much better BUT, now there's an unsightly "bump". Should I just leave it it its current condition? I don't want to stress the tree too much. . .
Also, best place online (or best brand?) of bonsai snips (I'm sure they have a "proper" name- please excuse this novice!!) I can't really afford to spend a lot but reg bypass, no matter how sharp, aren't configured to move in & out of such tight spaces!!
New to H.G- I'd appreciate any help or advice!!!

tomc
Super Green Thumb

"Concave" cutter is I think the name of the tool you're wanting.

Stainless (steel) is the spendiest. Mine are plain-jane carbon steel (I got mine from evergreengardenworks) but shop around.

Bonsai-By-The-Monestary (Conyers GA) is closing down its mail order and may be another good option.

floraAdore

I will look for one, thank you! Hindsight being 20/20, I shouldn't have put it in its current pot right away. I need to thicken up the trunk & I've read the best way is to plant inground or lg container- since I'm zone5 the serissa will have to go to a lg container for awhile. What would you suggest for soil/ratios? It's almost as thick as a pencil now; I'm interested though in finding some trees I can plant outside!!

*the serissa's a fickle gal- lets me know how she's feeling! Lol!!!

tomc
Super Green Thumb

FD, your in Maine! get hunting for a ditch grown Tamarack (larch). They are in just about every wet ditch from York to Houlton. And free. Did I mention free?

And many times mowed short for decades. So all you gotta do is grow a top.