Geniusdudekiran

Chinese Elm indoor lighting

Hey everyone, My name's Kiran and I'm a high school student who's had a bonsai for about 2-3 months now. My tree is a beautiful kifu size Chinese Elm (Will post pics soon) which was purchased from Takashima bonsai in SoCal online. The tree was in immaculate shape when it arrived, but now, a few months later, it's not doing as well.

Currently the tree is on my desk, with a N/NE facing window a few feet away. As of right now, it's sitting about 2" under a spiral CFL (48W equivalent I believe, maybe higher) as well as some more ambient light from a 27W PCL lamp over my planted aquarium.

Leaves are turning yellow by the day and I'm picking them off so they don't drain the plant hopelessly trying to "fix" them. Is this correct? As far as what to do with yellowing leaves? Most are not drying out, but they're just turning yellow.

Also I know I have some aphids on the tree, I have been spraying it with a tight stream of water from a mister bottle every day or so outside and then manually removing any that I see.

Are there any problems you guys can see with my setup? I'm bent on having the tree inside, I'm willing to make the plant work around ME. Thanks in advance guys!

kdodds
Greener Thumb