zdawgnight

dwarf pomegranate on the way need some help

I ordered a dwarf pomegranate (Punica granatum nana ) and I have seen a bunch of different information on the needs of these guys. Could someone please help me get the right information? I'm quite new to the Bonsai world and originally bought the tree because I thought it would be a nice little house plant. Also on a side note how much different trying to make this into a bonsai tree versus letting it grow naturally? Thanks for any and all help!

kdodds
Greener Thumb

To answer the last first, because it's just easier, growing a houseplent involves little more than keeping it watered, fertilized, and potting UP as it grows. Bonsai culture requires judicious, purposeful pruning, pinching, and root pruning at repotting times in addition to the above. Neither way is necessarily difficult, nor time-consuming; but each is different, producing different results (obviously).