ToyoXrsPl
Newly Registered

Juniper Bonsai Suitable for Indoors?

Hello, I'm new to the Bonsai world but my gf was buggin me for the longest time to get her a bonsai tree. Now I live in Ontario, Canada and we have some pretty bad conditions here in the winter, however our apartament is really warm all the time, specially in the winter time. I live in apartament with a balcony, and we want the tree to b indoor, we can take it out on balcony from time to time if that's what it needs.
We are wonderin which kind of tree to get cuz we noticed that there's a lot of different kinds. We would like a really full one if that's possible. Any recommendations ?
I'm in the middle of readin how to take care of them.

Edit: We really love how Juniper Bonsais look :)

ynot
Greener Thumb

Welcome,
ToyoXrsPl wrote:Edit: We really love how Juniper Bonsais look :)
Sorry, A juniper is a tree that needs to be outside during winter, This is required for it's survival. If you want your tree to live, A juniper is out of the question.

Do keep in mind also that you can get a larger version out in the nursery of the exact same juniper [that is in the bonsai pot] from lowes or home depot for 5 or 10$ [instead of 15$ or 30$] And you get to do the styling.

Read the articles about 'nursery stock' for details.
ToyoXrsPl wrote:I live in apartament with a balcony, and we want the tree to b indoor, we can take it out on balcony from time to time if that's what it needs.
We are wonderin which kind of tree to get cuz we noticed that there's a lot of different kinds. We would like a really full one if that's possible. Any recommendations ?
I'm in the middle of readin how to take care of them.
ALL trees prefer to be outside in the summer, The ones from tropical climates must overwinter indoors [with supplemental lighing for health reasons]
Here are a pair of sites with some excellent articles wrt bonsai:
https://www.bonsai4me.com/Basics.html https://www.evergreengardenworks.com/articles.htm