bonzehy
Newly Registered

Need Help! Dwarf Jade Bonzai is (almost) leafless!

I am a complete rookie when come to planting. However, a month ago, my girlfriend bought me a Dwarf Jade Bonzai from Lowes. For the past 2 weeks, it has been dropping leafs until it is almost bald now. I only water very little once a week. Today at the bottom of one of the leaf has weird looking "pimples". Is it some kind of pest or disease? Need help ASAP cause I think by this time tomorrow it will be leafless.

here is the pic:
[img]https://s1134.photobucket.com/albums/m602/ehyphotodump/bonzai/[/img]

JustinBoi
Green Thumb

1: Lowe's doesnt know how to treat Bonsais because they water all of them the same, they either overflow it with water or don't give it water at all. Not really a good place to get a Bonsai.
2: You need to water the plant 2-3 times a week if its dry to the touch water it more. If you want to test if its dry/moist use a wooden kitchen scewer and stick in the soil.
3: Your picture didn't work.
4: Keep the plant in the sun, water it more and see if it will revive.

froggy

Here's your image:
[img]https://i1134.photobucket.com/albums/m602/ehyphotodump/bonzai/bonzaileaf.jpg[/img]

Some trees don't take well to changing environments, just pick a sunny window without drafts and leave the tree there.
read up on [url=https://www.helpfulgardener.com/bonsai/03/care.html]properly watering[/url] your new bonsai (a tree without leaves will usually need less water, but it sounds like yours needs a proper soaking to begin with - edit, Norm just posted what to do :) so I'll shut up now).
Google the species and learn what you can.

If it were me I'd remove the affected leaf and watch out for new occurrences. (as in, I don't know if it is a pest either. but fact is, a stressed tree is much more prone to being infected with such things)
Last edited by froggy on Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

bonzehy,
I only water very little once a week.