blinky
Newly Registered

Recommended Indoor bonsais?

Hi all,

I'm new to bonsai trees, but I think that they are really interesting and would love to get one for my dorm room at school this upcoming year. Does anyone have any recommendations as to good bonsai trees for the indoors?

femlow

Probably the most often recommended (and with good reason) bonsai for indoors (and beginners) is the ficus. They have a bad rap for tempermentalness, but its actually undeserved and based on misconceptions. They are really pretty hardy, can withstand varying levels of light, do fine if they dry out (not too much of course, but that goes for anything), recover well from over-watering, and are very well suited for bonsai. The reason many people think ficus are harder to grow is because they tend to drop their leaves when they are stressed. If you get a ficus and it drops some of its leaves, please don't freak out. This is a very normal reaction from a ficus to stress, and while some people seem to think this means they don't handle changes in their environment well, its actually the opposite. The ficus is exceptionally adapted to changing environments, which is why it will drop leaves. The new leaves that grow in will be made specifically for the new environment where the ficus is located, a very neat trick that few trees can pull off as well as the ficus can.

fem

Sharp

blinky wrote:Hi all,

I'm new to bonsai trees, but I think that they are really interesting and would love to get one for my dorm room at school this upcoming year. Does anyone have any recommendations as to good bonsai trees for the indoors?

I agree with femlow, ficus is a great choice!

For a second suggestion though, Ive had great success with fukien tea. Perhaps a bit more hands on and less hardy than ficus it still makes a good indoor. Offer it plenty of sunlight, but not baked in a windowsill, and humidity lvls need to be higher.

Zombiefreak
Cool Member