DjD

Newbie Question

Greetings,
I am very new to the art of bonsai. As usual, I jumped in with both feet.
I have a couple questions for the 'bonsai masters' here. I have a Brush Cherry, a Chinese Elm, a Juniper and a red Japanese Maple. I really need to know which of these are indoor trees and which are outdoor trees. I was thinking that all bonsai are indoor trees. After reading the posts and information on the website, I have now realized that I have a lot to learn. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

TomM
Greener Thumb

DjD, Hi & Welcome

I can't play 'bonsai master' but I want to comment on your question - it's a good one because it goes to the root of so many problems and failures for new bonsai enthusiasts.

The concept of 'indoor' - or - 'outdoor bonsai' is a confusing one. All trees have a NATIVE ENVIRONMENT, the place on the planet where the species is totally happy in nature year round. We humans then move them around and try to grow them where we happen to live - which is often in a much cooler, or drier, or hotter, or wetter environment than the poor tree is 'native' to. The tree then suffers. It can't adjust to the change.

If the tree (species) originated in a tropical area of the world we in the North try to compensate by bringing it 'indoors' to grow it in a warm place - hoping to mimic the place it came from. But we must then provide very good light and humidity. This situation is called INDOOR TREE, whereas if we keep it outdoors it would be too cold and would not survive.

Then the opposite is also true. Those of us who live in warm/hot climates will have a hard time with trees from cold/temperate locales. Trees like juniper, larch, some maples and pines need to have cold conditions for winter dormancy periods. Those are OUTDOOR trees. They will not do well in a warm house.