Laine

Another rescue mission-ficus

I've always liked bonzai trees. I grew up in Charleston, SC, and there were always lots of stalls at The Market downtown selling them. While at Walmart a few days ago I did something I do way too much and something I never do-at the same time: I started on a rescue mission (I'm an old pro at animal rescue missions), but I know nothing about bonzai trees, and I almost never take in a critter without doing research on it first. All I knew about bonzais is that they are small and that they are really more like critters in their care than they are potted plants. This one is a ficus; I do have experience rescuing ficus trees about 5 feet tall from my mother (brown, brown thumb), but I didnt' even know you could grow a ficus bonzai stye. Since I got it from Walmart, the card it came with had vague info, and it is in bad shape, although it does have some signs of new growth. I have been doing research and I know that it likes humidity. I will be keeping it mostly indoors. I live in upstate South Carolina, just to give you that info for it's trips outside. It's in a plastic pot, but I bought a ceramic one to put it in that's just a little bit bigger. Question Time:
Will misting the leaves be enough to take care of the humidity problem inside, and if so, how often should I mist?
Should I wait for some recovery to repot? Like I said, I'm brand new at bonzai; it's just that I've managed to save several plants just by repotting them.
When I do repot, is my new pot that's just big enough to set the current pot in big enough?
What kind of soil should I use? I'm willing to get dirty and mix different things together.
Should I take the moss that's sitting on top of the soil off? It's about 2 1/2 inches thick?