chanka98
Newly Registered

Sand as a potting medium for Brazilian Raintree?

I just purchased a Brazilian Raintree and found a few references to the fact that they actually grow in sand. I was thinking maybe I could take a mixture of sand and some traditional bonsai "soil" and repot into that medium. Does anyone have any experience using this type of sandy medium? The research I have done seems to indicate that the Raintree's roots are susceptible to rotting when mixed with too much organic material, plus I like the idea of using sand, I think it would look nice! (since I live in FL on the west coast I have access to some NICE beach sand!!). Any thoughts? Thanks!

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

chanka98,

I have no experience with this species but I do have a few thoughts to offer. When you say that this species grows in sand I assume that you mean in nature. What may be appropriate in the ground is not always a good choice in a pot.
https://www.evergreengardenworks.com/earthpot.htm

Even if you decide to go with sand as a medium, beach sand may not be the best choice considering the salt content. I know a few of our members have posed about these before. Have you tried the search feature?

Norm

chanka98
Newly Registered

Thanks, Norm. I did do a search on this type of tree but there seems to be a lack of specific info out there, especially relating to an appropriate potting medium. I did just find an article that mentioned using a slightly more gritty substance (similar in size to fish tank gravel) along with some crushed lava rock. It also stated that sandbox sand or paving sand was too fine so there goes that idea. Thanks for the response and for the link!

Charlie

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Charlie,

Have you seen this?

https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3422