denvella
Newly Registered

Bonsai Zelkova (Probable Chinese Elm)

Hi all,

I have recently purchased a bonsai zelkova as stated on its label. Currently I noticed that some of the leaves are falling off and also it seems to be taking a bit of a yellowish colour on some leaves.

I keep this plant indoors all the time and on my desk table which is infront of a glass balcony door.

When I bought the bonsai it is potted in a plastic pot.

Can anyone please tell me why the leaves are falling down and turning yellow and shall I re pot it in a clay type pot ?

Thanks all

Hope I get some good feedback I am really new to bonsai and feel attracted to them from before I bought one

djlen
Green Thumb

Welcome denvella,

Zelkova is an out door tree and will not do well inside. It needs a period of dormancy in the Winter to rest for it's growing season in the spring.
Your tree will not be happy and eventually die if kept indoors.
You need to acclimate it to cooler and then colder temps. and then put it outside so it can go dormant for the rest of the Winter. It will lose it's leaves and grow new ones in the Spring.
How cold is it outside in your area at this time?

Marsman
Green Thumb

Welcome, Den. We'd be happy to help you out.

First off, [url=https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3724]post a picture[/url] of your tree so we can see what we are working with.

Second, how often are you watering it? Too much will kill it as fast as not enough.

It could just be the shock of the new environment that's making the leaves yellow and drop off.

Let us see you tree and we can go from there.

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

denvella,

Unless your tree was purchased from a reputable dealer I would be surprised if it is actually a Zelkova as stated. Almost without fail, anytime we see mallsai being sold as Zelkova they are really Chinese Elms. My understanding is that this is done to skirt restrictions on the importation of Elms into some countries.