noqgardener

weed control

this is my first year having a garden and the weeds are terrible, I have heard that weeds are worst the first year a garden is worked up I still need to do something, My husband said he would till between the rows this weekend but it might be too wet. what can I do to help get rid of the weeds? I have black and white newspapers around some of the plants, it seems to help but not much. It is a large garden so unless I can mow my lawn and use the cuttings as mulch I can't afford mulch right now. And the only papers I get are 2 weekly shoppers guides so it would take all summer to get enough to cover my garden.
Thanks in advance.

rootsy
Green Thumb

A hoe is a mighty handy tool... A strong back and calloused hands are beneficial also...

Roger

By hand/hoe is the best immediate way. If it is too wet to till, then it is just wet enough to hand pull weeds: they are easier to pull when the soil is wet and loose. I would start weeding, and concentrate on circles about a foot from the base of each and every plant. Everything out from that 1 foot circle is less of a problem and not really competing with/threatening your plants - it can be dealt with over time.

Focusing on this smaller area also makes it a lot less intimidating when you are looking at a garden getting out of hand :) Just gradually, every couple of days, expand the weeding zone outwards a little, a couple of inches - before you know it, you will only be pinching small weeds just getting started.

A mower works wonders for a quick haircut between rows or large areas where nothing is planted. Or a weed-eater. Just be careful not to snip your plants too !

pete28

I hate to say it but there is no easy way to weed in a garden. I highly recommend the wet soil method that everyone has mentioned. Do it just after a rain or after watering. I was outside for a few hours yesterday doing this. Or if you have some children perhaps you could enlist them? My girls enjoy helping me out.