Grandma99
Cool Member

PH general understanding - "lowering PH" and it's number

I am new to gardening and I'm so confused no matter what I read because:

My soil test kit says my soil is 7.5. I THOUGHT that mean it is slightly acidic. But then Gary Pilarchik (The Rusted Garden) says:

'Use baking soda which raises PH which fungus hates. Or you can use wetable sulfur which decreases PH and makes it more acidic.'

This is an example of why I am confused. It does not seem that there is a coorelation between the 7.5 number because 'lowering the PH' does not mean 'lowering that number'? It seems OPPOSITE to what I think it should be! In everything I read, I keep getting confused on this number and what 'raising' and 'lowering' means. I have read and read gardening thing I can find and I remain confused. I've been reviewing methods to combat fungus, change my soil PH (DROPPING that number to between 6.5 and 7.0 which it says my plants prefer).

I THOUGHT I understood but everything I read confuses me further. Can someone please please set me straight? I will paste the answer and keep it by my mixtures.

Gary350
Super Green Thumb

This picture is my ph paper package. 1 is high acid. 14 is high base. 7 is neutral. Each plant has a ph it likes best. Potatoes like 5.5 to 6 ph soil. Most plants do good in 6 ph soil. If soil gets above 8 ph it locks up minerals in the soil plants turn yellow and die. Too much organic material can increase ph above 8. Add vinegar, any acid, sulfur to lower ph.
Attachments
100_4446.JPG
Last edited by Gary350 on Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

PaulF
Greener Thumb

I always thought 7.0 was neutral which means pure water. I would do about anything for a 7.5 pH. I think anything between 6.5 and 7.5 is an excellent range for growing almost all garden vegetables.

Gary350
Super Green Thumb