TomatoNut95
Super Green Thumb

Tomatillos not producing??n

Hello everyone! This is my first year growing tomatillos. I purchased two plants in a pot. Now the plants are blooming quite well, but no production! There is no bee activity in my backyard, so could that be it? Do I need to hand pollinate?

pepperhead212
Super Green Thumb

Where are you located? In my area, this is very early for tomatillos, yet there are a bunch of flowers on both plants, which are about 3' tall, and no bees yet, so only a couple tomatillos are forming. I "buzz the blossoms" of my early tomatoes, but tomatillos are mostly self-incompatible, so this didn't do much. I'd probably have to go out with q-tips, and cross pollinate the flowers.

Hopefully the bees will be here soon...

TomatoNut95
Super Green Thumb

I am in East Texas. I will be patient with my tomatillos, I've just never grown them before. :? Oh, is there a chance they may cross with my peppers or tomatoes?

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

TomatoNut95 wrote: Oh, is there a chance they may cross with my peppers or tomatoes?
No. They are all in the nightshade family, but peppers are genus capsicum, tomatoes are genus solanum, and tomatillos are genus physalis. So they are not even the same genus, much less the same species.

TomatoNut95
Super Green Thumb

Thanks!

Mrheadache
Newly Registered

I'm up in Wisconsin and I do not put plants in the garden until Memorial Day due to frost. I usually won't have tomatillos until August. As soon as flowers are out so are the bumblebees to pollinate. I have never had to hand pollinate them. I also planted with peppers and tomatoes so there is no problem there. I am trying them at my new house, but I now have black walnut trees so it may be interesting... They need patience for sure, but when they come, there are a lot.

pepperhead212
Super Green Thumb