joanie
Newly Registered

New- Veg Gardening w/ lots of ???

[img]https://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y25/autumluver/gardensmiley.gif[/img]

:D Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to veg gardening. Ive been reading up on it and its a bit overwhelming!!!!! Maybe someone could give me some simple pointers to get me started. I'm really excited to do this.

I have the ground all tilled..........I'm in Upstate NY. OK...now what do I do to begin? :lol: I know I will learn as I go along but any help would be appreciated.

How do I get the soil ready?

How do I keep out squirrels and other animals?

How do I water?

Fertilize?

Any help you can give me would be great! Thanks!!!!! :P

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

How do I get the soil ready?

Purchase a bunch of manure, try local farms they are usually very cheap or free. Turn this into the soil now.

Also buy some kelp meal to add when you are planting. Don't add it just yet.

You could also buy some Rock Phosphate and work that into the soil now. That wouldn't hurt at all.

How do I keep out squirrels and other animals?

Squirrels.... good luck. I've heard that pepper works. Cayenne was the recomondation but, I don't like causing them so much agony and just use black pepper. You can buy the jumbo sized ones for fairly cheap.

Rabbit and Deer, a fence. For deeer it needs to be at least 6 feet high and for rabbits, it should go right to the ground with netting or metal mesh. (That works like a trick of deer as well.)

Other animals, well ask and hopefuly you'll recieve an answer.

How do I water?

Excellant question! :) What you want to do is Deep Water. That means watering less often and for long periods of time so that the water can sink deep into the soil. So, what I do is water for at least an hour, about once a week or as needed. I actually water for about 4 hours.

Fertilize?