peted17
Newly Registered

Soil Mixture.

I have just made a planter and intend growing veg, to start with I want to grow carrots, onions, just basic veg until I get to know more. What I would like to know is the type of soil I would need, how much fertilizer, how much compost, do I need to put gravel underneath,? The planter is 12 feet by 4 feet and about 30 inches deep. I will be grateful for any advice as I am a novice.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

"I have just made a planter "

Curious what your planter is made of? Problem is: Soil is heavy and it tends to push down the walls of a planter.

Vanisle_BC
Greener Thumb

Hi peted. That's a generous box you've built yourself to start with. It would be interesting to hear the construction details. At 12ft long & 30" high it will need to be well anchored along the bottom and have very stiff or cross-braced sides. But most likely you have all that covered, and anyway it's not what you were asking about.

I wouldn't personally advise gravel in the bottom though others may disagree. Every few years one of my beds has to be rebuilt or moved, and gravel (or fabric) in the bottom is a big pest if soil removal is involved. Same goes if I have to dig down to get at the roots of some nasty invader, maybe entered from below :(. Raspberry, grape, fruit tree roots! If it's drainage you're concerned about, I'd say many/most? homebuilt beds have enough leakage to drain just fine; maybe too well in some respects. If not, drain holes can be provided along the base.

I originally built my boxes 30" high so I could sit on the sides which was really nice, but for various reasons they've been gradually reduced to 18 or 16 inches. I can still sit on the sides, it's just harder to get up :).

On fertilizer etc I'm not a good source of advice but I'm sure plenty of others here will weigh in with their knowledge & experience.

Good luck and it will be interesting to hear about your progress.

kayjay
Green Thumb

Hi and welcome.