learningtogrow

New to Vegetable Gardening

Hi everyone,

I am very new to vegetable gardening, but really want to dive into it this season. So, I need all the advice I can get.

One question I have been thinking about for some time is whether container gardening or just plain old gardening in the yard is better? We do have room for a garden in our backyard, since we live out in the country, but my main concern is that it might be too windy where I am thinking to put the garden. There would be plenty of direct sunlight.

Also, another concern is of course certain animals, like deer, dogs, rabbits, and other animals that could destroy the vegetables. Of course, that's probably everywhere you go though - what are some tips for that?

I have many more questions, but just thought I would start with these.

Thanks, in advance, for your responses :)

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Hi learning and welcome to the HG!

So, about container vs ground gardening: it really depends on what your needs are.

If you don't have much space, container gardening works just fine and you can do your best to mimic gardening in the earth and create healthy plants.

If you garden right in the soil you will have the benefits of all the soil organisms that will aid you in creating healthy plants and healthy soil to grow your plants in.

Provided that you have low bearing crops, wind shouldn't be to much of a problem and if you plan on gardening in that spot for a long time, you can plant a windbreak in the form of a hedge to protect the area.

The only thing that seems to work for deer is an 8 foot tall fence that goes right to the ground. That will keep rabbits out as well. However, there are some more green alternatives like planting the sunflower Helianthus maximillani as a hege around your garden that the deer apparently won't cross because of protuberances from the stems. It is a perennial sunflower and you cut it down each year. It is also edible.