JoyousFaith08
Location: Appalachian Mountains - Hardiness Zone 6a/6b & Sunset Zone 36, 2,375 ft. elevation

Cucumbers are shaped strangely and aren't dark green

Hello everyone. This is my first year gardening and I have a lot to learn! Would you please help me figure out my cucumber problem?

I used starter plants that I purchased from a nursery to start my cucumbers. They are labeled as "burpless hybrid." The leaves are green, the vines are growing and climbing, and flowers are everywhere. However, the cucumbers that have been produced so far don't look like any cucumber that I have ever seen before. The fruit is either curved or pointed and it had light yellow/white streaks instead of being dark green. Any ideas on what I am doing wrong or need to do differently?

Thank you for your help!
Attachments
IMG_0853.JPG

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

No problem. You are doing great. Yes, cucumbers may come in a variety of sizes, shapes and colors, but the test is to slice it up and taste it. Taste like a cucumber? If so, you are good to go. Have fun.

Do you have any bees around? Perhaps the flowers are not getting pollinated?

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

There's lots of varieties of cucumbers and they come in all shapes and sizes. If you want a cucumber you are familiar with, like the ones you find in supermarkets being dark green and straight, buy a packet of cucumber seeds named Marketmore. They produce long, straight, dark green cucumbers.

If you are into pickling and like to make your own bread and butter or dill pickles, get a packet of pickling cucumbers. They grow short and fairly fat by the time they should be picked, but will get a bit longer and much fatter if you let them on the vine too long. Pick them in the 3 inch range for the best results.

JoyousFaith08
Location: Appalachian Mountains - Hardiness Zone 6a/6b & Sunset Zone 36, 2,375 ft. elevation