mskellylauren4
Newly Registered

Asparagus - Year 2

Hello! I'm new to gardening.

My question is in regards to second-year asparagus growing:

I planted my asparagus last year. I bought crowns from a reputable greenhouse. I planted about four crowns and that same year had three single stalks pop up and fern. I cut them down as instructed. This year (second year of growth) only two single stalks have produced. As expected, they are quite thin and I will not harvest unless they are thicker than a pencil.

I would like to know why only two stalks have produced when I have planted several more crowns? Is this normal as it is only year two or did I do something when planting to affect the rest from growing? Thanks! :)

So excited to eat my asparagus, hopefully next year!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Not normal. Each crown should produce at least one stalk; in the second year there should be more. If they didn't come back, your crowns have died. I can't tell you why, but you can dig them up and inspect, should tell you more: if mushy and rotten, over watered; if dry and shrivelled, under watered; or maybe have holes eaten in them or signs of disease.

It will help you to know what happened to them, to avoid it in the future.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

You say: "I cut them down as instructed."

Not sure just what you mean by this. That first years growth must be let stand all season until after the fall frost. Then you cut it down.
Next year you can cut all spears up until June 1. Do not cut any after June 1, until after the fall frost, then you cut them all and clean up the area. It is this ferny growth that is the leaves that make the food to feed the roots and store up energy for the next Spring crop.

Sometimes I have had the little gophers eat the crowns in the winter. The plant seems to be pretty winter hardy. It will usually make winter here in this zone 5 area.

SQWIB
Greener Thumb