creiddylad78
Newly Registered

Stunted squash and tomatoes

Hi, I'm new to the forum and just learning to garden again. I've been reading through posts in order to figure out what's going on with my little garden patch. I'm in zone 8a growing a garden in a shared back yard in containers. I had knee surgery a couple of years ago so container gardens seemed like an excellent way to go. I have no real experience with this type of gardening, nor gardening in the south, I'm a transplant. Knowing that I knew less than nothing I started reading up on the whole shebang, then followed the lead of my in-laws. We started our gardens at the same time, same planters, same soil, same amount of sun, same watering schedule. Differences: I mulched the top of my planters to keep the soil from getting too hot (made sense to me, we're already in the 90s here), and they put lime on the top of their soil. Their plants are all huge, starting to fruit, and making me jealous. My plants, especially my squash and tomatoes, are mostly stunted, the squash plants are starting to turn yellow. My peas and my cucumbers are doing well. Did I make a mistake with not adding lime? Or did I mess up by mulching? In case it's important, the tomatoes are in large individual containers because I read they liked a lot of room of their own in container gardening. I've been reading this forum for weeks now, plus Pinterest, but haven't found the answer I've been seeking. If I missed it I apologize.

imafan26
Mod

Are you using the same soil and the same fertilizer?
Are the pots the same size for the same plant?
When you mulch, the soil will hold on to moisture better and you should make sure your mulch stays about 4 inches away from the stem.

What else do you do different?

Besides the difference in liming what else is different?

Java

I have found is that the following to a big difference:
1. Amount of sunlight the plant get a day.
They need lots of direct sunlight. Atleast 6hrs.
2. Size of the containers.