Megan and Roscoe
Newly Registered

How much space per plant?

How much space should I put between my squash, melon, and tomato plants. I've got about 8 of each. I'm going to be designing raised beds out of concrete blocks. and I'm tryin to decide if I should do multiple raised beds (one for squash, one for tomatos, one for melons) or if I should do one Long bed and put them all in together. So I want to figure out the space each plant will need.

Also can I put all my pepper plants together in one bed or should I seperate them? And is it ok to plant my onions and chives in the same bed as my peppers.

I'm sorry I'm new to gardening.

elementfiftyfour
Cool Member

This answer really depends on how you plan control the plant as it groes. Do you plan to let them spread out on the ground naturally or do you plan to train them up onto a tomato cage or scaffold? Are you going to let them spread out from your raised bed or are you going to keep them within the confines of the bed?

As a general measurement:

A good sized tomato plant will need about a 1-2 foot radius around it if you have it trained up in a tomatoe cage. I would recomend using a cage to keep your tomatos from laying on the ground and rotting.

For melons and squash, you can let them mingle a bit if you let them spread out on the ground. I would recomend about 3-4 feet radius between each plant. If you train them up onto some sort of scafolding such as a wigwam you can get away with planting them a bit closer.

What kind of melons, squash and tomatos are you planting?

Winter squash like butternut spread out and take up much more room than a squash like a Zuchini. Also a water melon plant spreads out much more than a cantaloupe plant.

The same goes for some tomato plants. Depending on the variety you can get away with planting them closer or further apart.