SpringWaterGrower

First time Gardener

Hello from North Central Florida, this is my first time attempting a garden. My neighbor next-door inspired me and help me get set up.

December 13 I sowed 30 Broccoli transplants and sowed two rows of cabbage from seed. About how many days does it take for the cabbage to germinate and sprout through the topsoil?

On December 16 I also put into the ground carrots from seed, but I'm not sure if I did it correctly. I wasn't anticipating the seeds to be so small and before I realized it all the seeds were out of the package. So, I'm pretty sure they all just piled up in one spot. Oops lol. About how long do they take to germinate and sprout as well?

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

There is information on all seed packets I've ever gotten that tell you the proper spacing, proper depth to sow the seeds, row and plant spacing, length of time until they emerge on average and number of days until they should be ready to harvest.

Also there should be information on when it is best to plant in your particular location in the form of a climate type map of the US for the different planting zones.

SpringWaterGrower

Yes. I've found all of that information. Just curious what the avg times are

applestar
Mod

Cabbages should come up pretty quickly but will depend on temperature -- I'm thinking 3-5 days if short-sleeve weather to 2 weeks if cold. 3 weeks if very cold.

Carrots will take longer -- 2-3 weeks, closer to 3 weeks, up to 4 weeks. Trick with carrots is keeping the seedbed moist all that time and not allowing to dry out -- you'll probably need to sprinkle every day it doesn't rain. Also you will need to watch out for weeds that will sprout more easily and faster.

One of the most important things to learn as a first time gardener is what your desired seedlings look like so you will recognize them and know your weeds (anything that look different). :wink: