denisbaldwin
Newly Registered

Plants & Vegetables for a Raised Garden Box?

Hello everyone. I'm new to gardening. I've read a bit about it, but never actually put trowel to dirt, as it were. Part of this is because that I'm a very unlikely gardener. I don't fit the mold of what I've always thought a gardener to be, but persuasion from both my therapist and my wife has put me into the shoes of a would-be gardener.

That said, I would like to make a raised garden box to start. I'm thinking 3' x 8' and build it out of 12" tall red cedar. I'd like to divide the garden half and half between flowering plants and vegetables.

I know *nothing* about how to choose flowers. The wife demands something pretty and that smells nice. I just want them to grow and provide the kind of challenging tranquility that gardening is supposed to bring.

As for the vegetable side, I'm going with different kinds of peppers, two tomato plants, a cucumber plant and some green onions.

So, my questions...

1. From what I've said so far, is there any flaw in my logic?

2. What kind of soil/compost/nutrient-rich material should I use in my raised bed?

3. What kind of watering schedule would you suggest I keep?

4. In keeping with my wife's idea of putting in pretty flowers, what would you suggest for a newbie that will look nice and be relatively easy to care for?

5. Should I go with seeds, bulbs or starter plants that are already growing?

Thanks and I look forward to your replies...

Denis

elementfiftyfour
Cool Member

denisbaldwin wrote: As for the vegetable side, I'm going with different kinds of peppers, two tomato plants, a cucumber plant and some green onions.

So, my questions...

1. From what I've said so far, is there any flaw in my logic?
Seems a good choice in plants and of course there is nothing wrong with getting your hands a little dirty. You may find that you greatly appreciate the time you spend out with nature, even if it just be in your back yard.