bobbyg

Reliable information as to when to plant what

I have been gardening for 3 yrs now. Basically started with tomatoes and now tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, artichokes (first time this yr), swiss chard, raddish, onions, and cucumbers (also first time). I am in northern CA, zone 9b. This yr I planted my tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers too soon. Tomatoes did well but peppers just stayed without any growth for almost 2 months. We had cold spring this yr. I cut down my peppers but that it turn revived them and now they seem to be doing good. Cucumbers not so. Plants are still quite small.

Problem for me is trying to plan what to plant and when. I have checked so many websites and most give conflicting information as to what I can plant in a given month. Lot of times they are off by months at a time. I wanted to grow some okra, most sites said I should do so in late June or July. Well seeds are in and after 3-4 weeks, it is still 1-2 inch of plant. Lot of seeds didn't germinate even thought it was hot when I sowed them. Next time maybe I do more and earlier. I found out from my co-worker that his okra is already fruiting as he planted in early march. His tomatoes aren't doing well as he planted late. What I am trying to find, is there a comprehensive site with information as to what I can plant and how should I plan so I can do successive plantings and not miss in between. With our nice weather, I think we can plant lot of things. Any help is much appreciated.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It is not as easy as it sounds. Timing is very tricky, part experience with your own garden and part intuition/luck.

You note "this year was a cold spring." If next year spring comes earlier and warmer, the timing of what would do well planted when could be very different.