joeyc
Newly Registered

Full sun for pumpkins last few weeks before maturity

Hi, I was wondering if anyone could help me with a question about pumpkins' need for sun. This is my first time growing pumpkins, so I'm trying to figure out how much of my space I can devote to them. The area I am using has full sun during the summer, but the house shades part of the yard towards the end of summer and by fall it shades a good portion of it for a good part of the day. I got an app on my phone to figure out what would still have full sun by october, and it turns out I lose quite a bit of full sun in the last couple weeks of september. Does anyone know if I vould I get away with some of my pumpkins having partial shade during the last couple weeks of the season? My backup plan is to just plant early-maturing varieties in those parts of the yard.

Thanks in advance for any help!

applestar
Mod

You've caught on to an important aspect of gardening which is the way sun exposure changes over the season when you don't have an open space to garden in. I have same issues and have been trying to track sun exposure in different beds in my garden depending on location.

Since this is your first try, I would really recommend growing more of the earlier maturing varieties (90 days) and maybe ultimately a couple of plants of the longer maturing (120 days). This way, you'll be able to see which will work out better.

Where do you live and how much space do you have? Which varieties were you thinking of growing?

Depending on where you are, SVB (squash vine borers) may be a serious problem. They are particularly attracted to C. maxima and C. pepo species of squash and most pumpkins belong to one or the other. I can only grow fast maturing type of these varieties so they will produce a couple of mature fruits before going down. I'm trying more varieties of C. moschata species.

joeyc
Newly Registered