Live4Today
Newly Registered

New to Gardening...Questions, questions!

Hello! I'm very new to gardening. My father has kept vegetable gardens, apple trees, grapes, and plums. Unfortunately, growing up I never paid attention to anything other than picking something out of it when I was hungry.

Today I have a family of five and we eat organic, mostly vegetarian meals. Our grocery bills is mostly produce. I'd like to start growing our own as I think I would enjoy it a lot and it could save us a lot in grocery money.

I am intimidated by the idea, though. Not sure how, where, or what to start with. I have a sunny open backyard, however it is hilly, not really a flat, even spot of ground. Also, we have raccoons and groundhogs. Add that I am a novice, and I'm wondering if having a vegetable garden is feasible for me?

When do I plant? I am in Virginia, which I imagine is a much different growing season than my native Minnesota. I've heard some people can grow year-round here.

Do I start with seeds or seedlings?

What do you suggest I start with? Our family eats a lot of lettuces, cucumbers, peppers, tomatoes, onions, and carrots.

Should I go for container gardening, beds, or rows?

How much financial investment should I expect starting a new garden for a family of five?

A friend told me I would have to dig deep, and put chicken wire into the ground then up around the sides and over the top of the garden so it was completely enclosed from the ground hogs...is this true? I'm a smaller person and don't have the strength for that much digging...depending on how deep I would have to go. Thoughts?

Grey
Greener Thumb

Welcome!

The best book I have found are the "month to month" series for your state. They should have one for Virginia. I referred mine in Florida, and now the one for Georgia, at least once a month. That will help you know the best planting dates and all that for your state.