cousinjordo

Storing Potatoes/Onions/Sweet Potatoes...with no cellar!

This will be my first year growing these three in enough quantity that I will have plenty to store. However, I don't have a root cellar or basement. Crawlspace is sealed and dehumidified (stays roughly 70* and 45% RH down there year round).

SO, how have ya'll done it in the past? Any ideas for curing and storing the three subject root crops? I know there are different methods for each, but I'd just like to get a conversation going and get different thoughts out there of people who have dealt with it.

Being in the South with high humidity through September just seems like this will be a challenge....but I'm new to it, so surely someone has great ideas!

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Mature onions are best dried and bagged in mesh bags and hung up. Potatoes are usually stored in a pit or root cellar. Here I don't have a root cellar, but can store some potatoes in the garage in buckets for a few months. The garage won't freeze until we get those sub zero temps in January or February. I have dug a pit large enough to hold a wheel barrow of potatoes and put them in the pit and covered it up. They will keep this way till spring. You go dig up the pit when you get some decent weather in late February. Sweet potatoes? No clue, they won't grow here. Too short of season.

cousinjordo

Hanging onions inside in climate controlled area? Or can you bag and hang in the garage?

I had planned on doing that in tubs in the garage with potatoes, just curious how it would work. Your air is much drier than my TN sticky humidity! :hehe:

I'll probably eat those sweet potatoes fast enough anyway we could just store them in our pantry once they cure. We go through sweet taters like pudding through a goose!

Vanisle_BC
Greener Thumb

jal, are those carrots together with the potatoes in your pit; how does that work out for you? (for them)