JeanM
Newly Registered

leggy potatoes plants were started too early in the house

I started my seed potatoes using Espoma potting soil and they have grown very large(picture attached) I am planting them outside in large containers but the weather is still not warm enough here in NJ. Some of the plants are over 12 inches. SInce I am planting them in containers and will need to hill them can I cut off some of the top parts of the stem without damaging the potatoe plant. If so, how much of the stem should I cut. WIll that prevent the plant from flowering? must the plant flower to produce the tubers. The root system is well developed. This is my first time with potatoes and I appreciate your help. THanks.
Attachments
IMG_4380.JPG

applestar
Mod

Where in NJ are you? I already planted mine in the beginning of April. I found some overgrown grocery store potatoes as well as my own saved seed potatoes in the back of the pantry :roll:

Subject: Potato too far along to plant?
applestar wrote:That purple-stemmed one looks NICE! That's the Russian Blue? 8)

I guess you didn't see my post about these :>
I planted them in the first week or so of April, which was a week later than my usual time to plant potatoes about a month before last average frost. Details are here:
Subject: Applestar's 2016 Garden

They have been sprouting out of the ground and looking pretty healthy. You'll find updates and current photos later in the thread.
You will need very large containers -- I assume you know that? 15 gallons or larger, especially with multiple plants like this. I'm thinking 1-2 plants (1 seed potato piece with 1-2 eyes) per 5 gallon. 1/2 barrel planters will work, or those fabric pots that are popular now -- you can get them in 25 gallon and even larger. They even sell some of those branded as potato pots.