jeffv
Newly Registered

Bell pepper seedlings struggling

Hi All,

This is my first year trying to grow plants from seeds and I've been having a little bit of trouble the last week or two. I planted tomatoes, bell peppers and basil. The tomatoes were planted about 2 weeks before the bell peppers and they have since taken off fairly well. The bell peppers took about 5 weeks to finally poke above the dirt and for the past two weeks or so they looked like they were doing fine until the last 3-4 days. Since then some of them started falling over and shriveling up, others have leaves curling (both up and down), and some look just fine.

Here are pictures: https://imgur.com/a/7J6yn

The first picture is the group of seedlings that seem to be doing the best. The next 4 pictures after that have examples of the curling or falling over I was talking about. The final two pictures are tomato plants (both roma and 4th of july varieties).

I live in NH, which I believe is zone 5. I planted 3 seeds per cell about 1/4" below the soil level. I've been watering the seedlings twice a day with a spray bottle when the soil dries out. I usually give about 3-4 "sprays" per cell. All the trays of seeds are sitting on a window that gets a massive amount of sun during the day (usually from 9-10am to 6-7pm the seed trays are covered in sunlight and the windowsill is very warm). The house stays right around 70 during the day and night.

I've done a bunch of research before posting this and found out that I definitely didn't use the correct soil to start the seeds. I think I ended up using a regular garden soil which apparently is a big no-no :( Could that be the culprit?