kbrown1337

Do these pepper plants look okay? (pics)

I planted 11 pepper plants about 5 weeks ago, and they seem like they're still pretty small and weak. A lot of them have leaves that are drooping and some are kinda leaning over. I'm really new to gardening so I don't know if this is normal or not!

Here's a link to some pictures of them: https://imgur.com/a/UKvn7

I gave them a tiny bit of fertilizer about a week ago, and I have been watering every other day, sometimes every day, depending on how dry they look.

I'm just wondering if these seedlings are normal size for their age, and if the drooping stems and leaves are normal. Thanks!

GardenThrive

Looks like they may have become spindly due to a lack of light. If the grow lights aren't close enough to the seedlings they will try to grow towards the lights and end up with really thin stems that can't support the weight of the leaves. I keep my grow lights about an inch or so away from the seedlings and raise them up slightly as they grow. The cotyledon leaves (starter leaves) will eventually fall off on their own and is normal. If the true leaves are falling off then you may be overwatering. It's best to let peppers dry out a bit in between waterings. That size pot and seedlings should only need water every 3 to 4 days if you are bottom watering. You may be able to put some small stakes in the pots and tie the seedlings to that to keep them from falling over.

ButterflyLady29
Greener Thumb

If you can't get enough light on them you can keep them from getting so leggy by having a fan blow lightly on them.

Are they planted in potting soil or seed starter? If planted in potting soil don't give them any more fertilizer until you can start to harden them off or give them more light.
Last edited by ButterflyLady29 on Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kbrown1337

ButterflyLady29 wrote:If you can't get enough light on them you can keep them from getting so leggy by having a fan blow lightly on them.