BU54
Cool Member

Soil Tester

Every fall I till in maple leafs from the tree in the back yard. Then in spring, this time of year here I usually till in 5 bags of cocoa bean shells.
I've been planting this garden for 15 years now and so far good results. However the last couple years overall production is down. I've talked to friends and some recommend lyme.
I'd rather test the soil with a hand held tester that you just stick in the ground.
What's a good one and do they tell you what and how much you need to add to the soil if needed.

Thanks!

PaulF
Greener Thumb

With more than 40 years experience in gardening and working with several home garden style soil testers I am convinced...more than convinced, positive those testers will not give you any results you can actually trust.

Get a real soil test. Most States have a University Extension soil testing department that will give you a professional soil test with recommendations for pretty cheap. Most are in the $10 range. They have professional people doing the test using state of the art equipment worth many thousands of dollars. Nebraska does not have that service but there a several soil testing labs in the area who charge 10 bucks and get the results fast.

Those self testers are throw away at best. My opinion and I'm sticking to it.

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb