Tylergardener
Newly Registered

New to gardening in Southern California

Hello, I am new to gardening and I am not sure on what I should first plant in my backyard. The mornings have been pretty chilly lately and the afternoons get warmer. I live in palmdale, California and I am looking to start some seeds soon (February). Preferably I am looking to grow vegetables but I am willing to plant anything viable during this cold month. My backyard is huge and has great sun coverage and I am going to plant it inside a pot. Any suggestions on what I plant here?

imafan26
Mod

Welcome to the forum. Please include your zone and location in your profile, that way people don't have to scroll through all of your posts to get basic information.
The farmers almanac puts out a calendar for planting dates around the country.
https://www.almanac.com/gardening/planti ... A/Palmdale
Sunset also puts out a guide for the the western states especially for California
https://www.sunset.com/garden/one-block- ... g-calendar
UC master gardener program should be available to you as a resource. They have this publication of planting times, recommended varieties.
https://ucanr.edu/sites/ucmgnapa/Gardeni ... _Calendar/

Now you can start seeds of eggplant, peppers, tomatoes, lettuce, cabbage, carrots, chard, onions. Herbs.

If you are planting in a pot. singular? You have to pick the plant that fits the pot.

It is better to get the biggest pot you can find and fill it with potting soil, make sure it is not garden soil. The bags look alike. You can plant more things in a large pot and it won't dry out as fast. If you have a fish market near you as them for the styrofoam boxes the fish come packed in. It makes a very good cheap planter. The bigger boxes are about 8 inches deep and three or four feet long. It is easy to make holes in them for drainage.