mech1369dlw
Newly Registered

What to do now for next year veggie garden

Greetings. Long time lurker, first time poster. Late April this spring, the wife gave me some seeds and said to plant them. I ain't a farmer, I'm a mechanic. She gave me some kind of Korean cucumber, squash and Early Silver line melon seeds to start. Started them in yogurt cups with Miracle Gro Potting Mix. 4 cucumber, 4 melon and 3 squash plants made it to about 5 inches high. Then I used my trimmer to make bare spots on the ground, dug up little holes and put them in the ground. The plantings were around the middle of May.

The cucumbers gave me an overload of fruits, the melons did 3-4 per plant and the squash only gave up 2 each before the plants were covered with little gray bugs. I looked up the pics of the bugs and they were squash bugs. They were the first plants to die off. Cucumber plants gave up a lot until around the first of Sept, when I had lots of females but zero males.

Now to the questions. I know I should till the ground. Should I do it this fall and add something, wait till spring to do it or both? What should I add to the dirt? What is good to keep the bugs away? So many questions, so much time. The ground has never grown anything except grass until I did my thing this spring. If ya need more info, I will give it. I am asking so I can make things better next year. Fire away. Thanx David

imafan26
Mod

It is always a good idea to put back some of what you take out. Soil does not keep giving forever. You can garden in the ground or in pots, but it is better to get a few tools. Basic a good round point shovel with a wood or fiberglass handle the shovel should not be in line with the handle but should be set at an angle. Cheap shovels are light and straight and harder to work with. A hoe and a bow rake. Small hand tools are sold in sets for about $10 and a bonus would be some garden gloves.