MadamCorgi
Newly Registered

Beefsteak Hybrid Shennanigans

I'm new to gardening, and I wanted to get into the hobby of growing my own veggies, especially since I'm in culinary school and know the importance of sustainability. So I bought myself a tomato plant from Home Depot (I cheated and grabbed one already growing tomatoes, lol) and watered it everyday. However, the tomatoes stopped growing, so I looked up the issue and found that pruning the indeterminate swede key. So I did that, and my tomatoes grew! But they were very pithy, and had these weird gold/yellow speckles on the flesh.

I looked it up and decided it was possible stink bug damage (I live in VA) and found a home remedy of cayenne pepper and water solution would deter them. I also noticed the lower foliage's leaves were turning yellow, but with further research it said it was normal and that the upper foliage was blocking the lower foliage's sun. So I trimmed the bottom foliage off, and fast forward a few weeks.

Now, my leaves were turning brown. I tried adding fertilizer and plant food (10/10/10) and watered it once a day, and now they're dying! I put way less fertilizer than the bag suggested to, but now the tomatoes that were growing are all dimpled and unevenly covered.

GARDENING IS SO HARD.

Can anyone help with suggestions? I worked so hard to keep this thing alive, and the brown leaves are spreading fast. It is about 4" high at the moment, in its original plastic pot and cage it comes sold in. I will attempt to post a picture.
Attachments
image.jpg

MadamCorgi
Newly Registered

Sorry for all the typos. The plant is 4' (feet) tall, not 4".

*indeterminates were key
* dimpled and unevenly colored, not covered

Stourme