anashenwrath
Newly Registered

Soooo.... how do you weed, exactly?

I know it seems like the silliest question, but I'm not sure how to weed my garden. (Do I even need to clarify that I'm a newbie? :lol: )

I'm seeing tons of weeds in my little community garden plot. I've been pulling them up by hand and I am pretty sure I'm getting all the roots. But it's slow going, especially bcs all my weeds are itty bitty.

A lot of websites seem to say the best thing is mulch. Is it too late to lay mulch down when my plants are already planted? Could I just make sure there is a space around the plants and avoid mulch in areas where I know there are seeds waiting to sprout??

Any other advice? Next year I'll put down some of that fabric stuff. It's probably too late now.

Thanks!

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Hoe, hoe, hoe. Pull what is left.

anashenwrath
Newly Registered

Can I hoe close to plants without hurting them?

anashenwrath
Newly Registered

Awesome! Thank you so much! This will be my project for my day off!

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Yes. Shallow. You want to disrupt that top inch of soil. Cut the weeds off from their roots. I plant rows 32 inches apart, then I can take the rototiller between rows to weed. Then catch what is left with a hoe or pull them. Weeding is ongoing here. My irrigation water comes in a canal then into a pipeline and is laden with weed seeds. It is sprinkler irrigation so the surface of the soil all gets wet and every seed comes. You just have to keep after it. I also like a wide bladed butcher knife for close weeding. That and a hoe and if you get over 1000 sq feet, a wheel hoe is nice. Then like I say the tiller works if you lay your garden out for it. Weeds are a fact of life. Do whatever it takes to disrupt them.

Then there the perennial types like morning glory and Quack Grass. Those are a challenge. You about have to dig up the roots and toss them in the garbage can or dry them well so that they die.