foid
Newly Registered

Dealing with cool crops in warm weather

Hi! I'm new to gardening this year and I had a few setbacks that have delayed sowing outdoors. I live in New York and I'm in zone 7a. The temperatures for the next few weeks are forecast to be highs of 70° and lows of 50°. This is the weather forecast for the next 10 days. I have some questions about dealing with cool crops in this weather.

I have some lettuce and radishes already growing in containers. The radishes are doing great and the Johnny's lettuce mix is doing great and is almost ready for harvesting. The butterhead has sprouted but has slow growth. Is there anything I should be doing to help these crops along? Should I leave them out in full sun, put them under the table for partial sun or put them under an umbrella/on the covered porch for some shade? Also, do these crops need to be fertilized? They were planted in Miracle Gro Moisture Control potting mix.

I was also wondering if I could still plant cool weather crops, specifically beets, kohlrabi, broccoli raab and other lettuce. I have lots of butterhead seeds, lettuce mix seeds and Parris Island romaine. Can I still plant these crops or will they suffer with the heat? I don't care all that much about the beets and additional lettuce, but I would really love to plant the broccoli raab and kohlrabi. If I can't plant them now, can I plant them in the fall?

I'm also confused about planting in the fall. For example, from what I've read about beets, you can plant them in the fall 10 weeks before the first frost. The first frost for my area is around October 21st, so that means planting the beets around August 12th. That is pretty much the hottest time of the year. How can it be that it is too late to plant them now, but planting them during the hottest time of the summer would be okay?

Thanks for any advice, I really appreciate it!

brooksms