Gardner4life
Newly Registered

Indoor Organic Gardening/Compost

Hello I am rather new to gardening but would like to get involved with it. Doing some research I think I will try out tomatoes in a make-shift pot (probably using an empty gallon milk jug and some store bought potting soil to begin with.)

Anyway my question primarily revolves around the compost. I keep reading that making your own compost is far better than buying store-bought potting soil. I attempted to make compost a handful of years ago but it went terribly wrong, I know now that I had WAY too much green (nitrogen) in my pile, fed it far too many grass clippings, and it turned into a sloppy black mess that quite possibly left me with walking pneumonia :( Unfortunately that deterred me from experimenting with gardening/composting for a few years.

Now I basically have no outside space to create a traditional compost pile. I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on indoor composting, preferably without the use of vermicomposting or worms. I saw some self-composting bins online but I'd rather not spend money on these. (especially since they all have some form of feed that you have to keep buying for the compost to break down) I was wondering if I could compost with a smaller container that could be left beneath the kitchen sink. I know that compost has to reach a high temperature so I'm not quite certain if it's even possible to compost on a smaller scale. Would anyone here happen to know?
I'm rather cautious about this given my previous experiences in composting especially since I'm thinking about doing it indoors. Although I figure it'd be easy to "turn" and if this is even possible I know now that carbons are a 30:1 ratio to nitrogens so I am more educated on it at least.
Thank you for any feedback!

applestar
Mod

Are you avoiding vermicomposting out of squeamishness? I'd say vermicomposting would be the best small-scale -- as little as you want -- way to "compost".