waharper
Newly Registered

New Garden Bed

I'm a newbie to vegetable gardening (in Tennessee, US), and I'm about to double dig a new garden bed, but there's one slight problem. It keeps raining and raining - and raining. I haven't been able to dig because the soil is so wet and I heard it's bad to dig when soil is waterlogged. I am worried about getting the plants in on time. What should I do? When is the latest I can plant for a good crop?

applestar
Mod

I have heard that it rains a lot in Tennesee. I think you might want to reconsider double digging -- if it rains continuously, there won't be a chance for you to dig down one shovels depth let alone two,

I have soilid clay subsoil under 1-2" of topsoil -- oh so "generously" left by the developer to keep the grass looking good just until the houses are sold. When I tried to double dig, only areas that were worth double digging was along the foundation where the foundation work necessitated loosening the soil. If I tried to double dig anywhere else, I ended up digging a bathtub.

So for over 10 years now, I have been using sheet mulching method. Stick garden fork in the clay subsoil to depth of the tines to make holes and channels (it's still better if the clay soil is dry enough to do this since they can be fractured, but I've done it to wet clay and just made tine holes too) put down any of the following as necessary: {unfinished compost ingredients or composted manure, weedy mulch, shrub and tree trimmings, sand, pea gravele, sod and top soil from the paths, lime if needed}, cover with large flattened cardboard, pile with layers of weed free greens and brown mulch (see compost forum sticky), top with 4-6" of weed free topsoil, garden soil and/or potting mix.