Jt8299
Newly Registered

Plants wilting and yellow after being outside

Hi, I'm looking for some guidance. I am brand new to vegetable gardening and believe I have made a mistake. I have been growing various vegetable plants indoors. This past weekend it was beautiful out and warm approx 70 degrees. I thought it would be a great day to get the plants outside for the first time. I did not properly research how to harden off plants and let them outside in direct sunlight for at least 8 hours. Most of the plants have wilted and some leaves are turning yellow. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I may be able to save these plants? Thanks!

applestar
Mod

Ouch! Yeah it is easy to think that they would love the wonderful day, but as you found out, they are delicate and not ready for the great outdoors unless slowly introduced. The direct sun as well as any kind of significan breeze can dehydrate and burn them.

First step would be to make sure they are well watered -- it will be better to bottom water because they might just collapse if you hit them with a stream of water. I also mist gently but thoroughly to help them rehydrate. DO NOT TRY TO FERTILIZE THEM -- added salts in the water will inhibit moisture intake (osmosis).

If you can, try to provide a somewhat humid environment -- but not too much or the weakened leaves will be readily infected by fungal disease.

After that, you just have to see. Unfortunately, some damage will be permanent and they will either not recover or lose the damaged leaves :(

Separate the ones that perk up if you can. It's critical not to let them dry out but don't overwater either at this point -- if some of the roots had dried up and died and leaves are damaged, the plant will not be able to update or move as much water as they did before.