detz
Newly Registered

We always do too much and fail, what should we start with?

Every year we have big plans and plant 10-12 things only to overproduce and have everything go to waste. :oops: What are a few plants (veggies) that we can use or can/freeze that are somewhat easy to grow in the north east that wont overwhelm us? We did tomatoes and cukes last year but they all seems to ripen at the same time and we have 2 dozen tomatoes at one time. Help a newbie out please!

simple keep doing what you do well.

but plant it in stages

plant 2 of each plant every 2 weeks

stage your production.

Trust me I'm a rocket scientist,

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Succession planting like that is great for peas, corn, etc, but not appropriate for tomatoes and cukes that are going to just keep producing.

I think this is more a question of learning what to do with things. Two dozen tomatoes doesn't really sound like very many. It depends on what kind of tomatoes you are growing, but 15 pounds of tomatoes cook down to about 8 pints of tomato sauce. Your two dozen tomatoes, unless they are large beefsteak ones probably aren't much more than 15 #.

I usually turn all my tomatoes (that I'm not eating fresh as they come along) into tomato sauce or salsa. Then you can freeze or can the resulting product.

Some of it I cook up into things like lasagna, chili, etc. Make a double recipe of whatever you are making, eat one, freeze one.

But when you said you plant 10-12 things, does that mean 10-12 different kinds of veggies (e.g. cabbage, broccoli, peas, beans, tomatoes, peppers, etc) or 10-12 of one thing, e.g 10 tomato plants? Obviously if 10 tomato plants makes more tomatoes than you want to deal with, then plant fewer (and use the space to plant herbs, which are wonderful to have and don't overwhelm you or need so much processing). I get all the tomatoes I want to deal with from about 6 plants.

detz
Newly Registered