thepiebaldraven
Newly Registered

Veggie Gardening and Feral Cats

I know, the subject line is strange, but hang with me! :)

So, as I mentioned in my intro post, I'm a newbie gardener and need all the help I can get. A few years ago, I built a 4 x 12 raised bed garden using untreated lumber with cardboard boxes as a weed barrier. Honestly, I don't remember what I filled it with, but seeing how I'm clueless with all of this, I imagined I used bagged topsoil.

My problem was and is now this: feral cats. We only have a couple roaming around now, but back then we had close to TEN roaming around our dead end neighborhood block. The main issue was not being able to keep them out of the raised bed because not only would they chew on some of the plants, but they'd use it as the community litter box! Obviously, I don't want cats (or any other animals) chewing on my hard work, but my main concern is the parasites that can be found in their fecal matter. I'm not sure if it will contaminate our produce or if we can become infected working with our hands in the soil. Are these fears legitimate? Is there a way to treat my soil to make it safe or do I need to complete dig the whole frame out and start fresh?

Thanks in advance!

thepiebaldraven
Newly Registered

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately, we don't have any rose bushes, although I have toyed with the idea of planting one. Would posting chicken wire around the perimeter also be an option? The sharpened sticks sound good too. Do you just set them up like a fence?

Susan W
Greener Thumb

I use plastic fencing to keep my Kitty from thinking the garden is her box. This the rolled fencing (Lowes, HDep) with about 1.5" squares. I cut in strips and lay down between and around plants. Not an ideal solution, but do-able and in budget. I have used it on the large containers when the squirrels get into digging mode.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

here's a 3 page discussion we had about this last spring: