jmhall23
Newly Registered

Cleaning out veggie garden

Hello All!

I am new to gardening (I live in Washington zone 8b), I am trying to plan my garden for this upcoming spring. I have been given a space to use, last spring it was full of herbs (also the previous gardener had mint outside of a container so it was all over this space) and lettuce. I just removed all that I could pull up a couple weeks ago but there was a lot of roots that I noticed. If I till the soil and plant new herbs will anything grow back from what I tried to remove?

Also, I'm doing some research and am overwhelmed by the possibilities I will have 3 4x12 raised garden spaces (new that I'm building) I am confused with the terms perennial and biennial.. I get that they mean 2 years and more than two years... but what if I want to change my garden for next year? How do I know I'm removing the plants good enough?

Sorry if these questions are obvious ;D

imafan26
Mod

Welcome and congratulations on your new garden. Mint can be very invasive. If you don't get all of the roots, chances are it will be back.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

There's no such thing as removing what's there well enough that none of it will come back. Doing weed control through out the season is just part of the gardening life. Once what you plant in the spring is sprouted and a few inches high, if you lay down a thick layer of organic mulch (can be shredded paper, pulled weeds, grass clippings, fall leaves, pine straw, etc etc), it will go a long way in suppressing the regrowth of roots and seeds in the soil and new ones that come in, as well as preserving moisture in the soil, and ultimately breaking down to add nutrients to the soil.

imafan26
Mod

Herbs are annuals: basil, coriander, dill, arugula,borage, chervil, fenugreek, nasturtiums, roselle, perilla, epazote, sesame

Biennials which will grow the first year and flower in the second: parsley, caraway, green onions