ChrisC_77

Rain Barrel (Stagnant water)

I have been harvesting rain water from my garage roof for a few years now. It is os a blue plastic barrel with a lid. Is there any concern with unsafe organisms or bacteria growing if I don't use it ib a timely manner? I am cconcerned about both human and plant health.

valley
Greener Thumb
Location: ranches in sierra nevada mountains California & Navada high desert

Hi, I wouldn't think so. Water in barrels, a resevoir or a pond should all be safe. The water in your barrel or barrels are subject to less contamination than drinking water stored in a man made lake, with boats, swimmers and pet dogs on weekends. Have a great day.

Richard

DDMcKenna

My wife has been trying to get me to set up a rain barrel for a long time now. I don't know whether or not there is the possibility of sanitary issues or not. My thinking was what if a bird took a dump that landed in the rain gutter and was washed into the barrel. Is that not an issue? And how would you make certain that no squirrels or other rodents didn't get into it? Here, In Florida, we have an abundance of these little lizards, thousands of them all over all the time. They aren't a big deal once you get used to them. They're even kind of cute but I don't know how sanitary they are. And I know they can find their way into anything so a rain barrel would be fair game.

ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb

Chris - the water in your barrel is a great resource for watering plants. I would not drink it or cook with it without boiling and filtering it first. My issue with still water is that it is a breeding ground for mosquitoes. I do not use pot saucers and dump the bird bath at least every other day for that reason.

Good luck

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb