gregrw
Newly Registered

My eggplant leaves are curling up. Help!

eggplant.jpg
Hi all, this is my first post here.

This is my third year gardening, and the second year in my raised bed. So I'm a newbie. Last year was the first year with a raised bed. I bought some triple mix, and it was quite dead, so I used granular chemical fertilizer that year. Results were OK, but as great as hoped. To help liven-up the soil, I raked in some seeweed compost overtop (1/2 inch) last fall.

I purchase most of my seedlings from the nursery, including the eggplant. It seemed to be doing ok, but everything was growing quite slowly. I didn't think the soil was ready yet. So I hand-watered the plants with some semi-organic liquit fertilizer at 13-13-13 to give them a jumpstart.

It's after that (coincidence?) that I noticed the eggplant leaves curling up. Everything else is doing fine (especially my tomatoes). Notice that the bottom leaves are wilting. Another possibility is over-watering which is happening because of the carrot seeds I have been trying to "pop". I just used the automatic watering system I put in - everything got watered more.

Anybody know what's causing this, and what I should do? I don't see any insects on it.

Thanks!

Greg.
eggplant.jpg

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb

What has your weather been like?

imafan26
Mod

Take off the lower leaves, you don't need them and if left on they will cause some fungal issues. Some of the plants in the background are a little yellow looking to me and the ground looks wet. Back off on the watering until you can poke your finger in the soil a couple of inches down and it feels almost dry.

If you want organic fertilizers go with fish emulsion weekly when you water.

For the leaves curling up a couple of things. It could just be hot.

Look under the leaves for pests. Sucking insects like spider mites or white flies can cause the leaves to curl and they are around this time of the year.

gregrw
Newly Registered