sunflower13

Summer gardening in Eastern Wa/North Idaho

I have been gardening for about 5 years now. First, I did container gardening and now I rent a plot. One thing that I have not nailed down is the exact time to plan my tomatoes. In my area, I have heard that if some mountain has lost all of its snow, it is time to plant lol. I have also been told the 3rd week in June. Last year I put them out in June but it rained for 3 weeks and nearly killed them. Then the end of the June it turned to 100 degrees after being 60s and rainy. My last frost date is around the middle of May but it always seems too cold and they have to be covered some nights. So I was curious if anyone in my area has a certain thing they look for or a weather pattern. Much appreciated!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I'm not in your area, and can't really answer your question, but it is interesting. Your zone 6 is a lot different than my zone 6. My average last frost date is a month earlier than yours. Are you near Yakima? It was one of the few places in WA I saw with a last frost date that late:

https://www.plantmaps.com/interactive-wa ... te-map.php

Your first frost in fall is only a couple weeks earlier than mine, but still that means on average you have six weeks less growing season than I do.

Given that, why not get them out earlier and cover them as needed? Personally I always rush my season some and I think I get tomatoes sooner than my neighbors that way. The plants don't look like they are doing much while it is still chilly, but they are putting down roots and getting ready to take off when the warm comes.

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

You are in my area . . . but, there are ups and downs :).