tuesday
Newly Registered

What to do with wet garden beds

I recently moved into a rental house where a previous tenant built garden beds in the middle of the back lawn. I've been thinking it'd be fun to plant something there, but I'm a little uncertain if it's really a good spot (and I have very little gardening experience), because the in-ground sprinklers that water the lawn water these boxes pretty thoroughly every time they run, and then the area is partially shaded so the area wouldn't necessarily dry out quickly in the morning (the sprinklers run at night). And I was looking, for example, at tips for growing tomatoes, and one I read said to avoid watering the leaves; with these boxes, it would be impossible to avoid getting the leaves quite wet quite often.

So my question is, would these sprinklers be a problem? Is getting the leaves of vegetable plants wet very problematic? Anyone have suggestions of vegetables that don't mind quite a bit of water? Or have I moved into a house with decorative boxes of dirt in the yard? :)

valley
Greener Thumb
Location: ranches in sierra nevada mountains California & Navada high desert

Hi, Glad to hear you're ready to plant. Just thinking: you can adjust down the watering time, have them come on every other day and even lower each sprinkler head. most are adjustable. You might see if you can trim what ever is shading.

You can start the plants you like best indoors and move them out when the weather and water permit. How does that sound?

Have a good growing season.

Richard

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

You didn't say where you are located. Climate makes a big difference. If you are in arid Arizona, the tomatoes can probably handle being sprinkled. In my humid climate it would be a disaster. Also night time is not good. If you are going to sprinkle your tomatoes, it would be a lot better to do it in the morning, so the leaves have a chance to dry out. Can't the timing on the sprinkler system be changed?