imafan26
Mod

what to plant in 18 gallon containers

I have 8-18 gallon containers, and 2 five gallon buckets. I had them as a demonstration project for different types of containers for primarily tomatoes. Some of the containers are standard pots. The buckets are modified self watering containers and about half of the 18 gallon containers are rubber maid tubs that have been made into self watering containers.

They are located in zone 12b. Pearl City, Hawaii. I have been fallowing them for several months now. I have to replace the containers since they have been out in the sun for about 4 years and are very brittle.

I'd like some ideas on what to plant in them this time besides tomatoes.

I had to stop planting tomatoes because of tomato yellow curl virus. I had to keep pulling the tomatoes, so I was just selecting for resistant tomatoes and they don't taste very good at all. Even the birds leave them alone. This is a demonstration garden, there are sweet potato vines nearby and the primary reason why tomatoes are not a good idea, the sweet potato white fly is the carrier of the virus and this is a white fly year.

Other plants already in the area are asparagus, okra, lab lab or hyacinth bean, bitter melon, eggplant, corn, beans, lettuce, bananas, tapioca, guava, saluyot, and spinach substitutes.

I do not want to plant short term plants in the tubs because, I want this to be as low maintenance as possible. All I can think of to plant right now is ginger, possibly taro, onions, cucumber, squash, and jicama.

I want plants that are not already in the garden, but something homeowners would actually use and not be to ethnic specific.

Everyone here would use ginger, and onions. Every one who lives here also know what taro is, although they may not know how to use it. Jicama is used by different ethnic groups here Chinese, Filipino, and Mexican, but is not used by everyone.

The containers are on a raised bench, have drip irrigation, and a 7 foot trellis.