rydia131
Newly Registered

Prepping soil for fall garden

Ok so new gardener here. I am doing a container garden due to the fact that I live in an apartment. I currently have my summer garden in full swing. With the exception of some rookie mistakes everythings going fairly well. I am planning on pulling the plants after they are done producing and then prepping the soil for planting my fall garden. Onto my question finally haha. What is the best way to reuse soil for new plantings? My plan was to get some organice fertilizer and some worm castings and turn them into the soil. Let it sit for a week and then transplant. Will this work? Any and all information would be great!! Thanks!!

jemsister

I wish I knew. I'm new to the fall crop idea--it never occurred to me until recently that you can grow things in the fall. Now I'm trying to figure out how to work that for my plant bed this year. I was just going to work in some Miracle Grow soil, but... =P

applestar
Mod

I think it will depend on what you are growing in the container now and what you plan to grow in them next, though in principle that should work as long as the soil has not compacted. I would definitely add compost or worm casting/compost.

Also, "pulling" will result in majority of the soil being removed in the case of larger crops.

Will you be following a typical crop rotation? -- follow legumes with heavy feeders, plant mustard family where you'll be growing tomatoes and other solanacea next, etc?

imafan26
Mod

Soil in pots get spent and the soil will have dead roots and some nutrients may be more depleted than others so it is hard to say without a soil test what nutrients you would need to add to balance it again.
I tried to reuse soil in the pots and I can get away with it a couple of times, but after that the plants don't do that well. Not only do the nutrients become unbalanced, but the soil may sour with build up of fungi, bacteria and weed seeds that keep on sprouting.