Watchrebel

Do we have any large scale gardeners in here? CSA etc?

I was just curious if we have any large farm gardeners here that participate and sell through the CSA program. Or has anyone ever bought shares or half shares in the CSA program and received weekly deliveries of fruit and veg?

Best,
Watchrebel

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I had a working half share in a CSA for about four years. I loved my CSA, but finally gave it up because the CSA farm was too far out of town and involved a lot of weekly driving. This year I have a membership in a new urban CSA. It is my first year and we haven't started receiving produce yet for the season.

But I think CSA's are a WONDERFUL idea and I heartily recommend them to anyone who wants to be eating locally grown organic food and doesn't have land/time enough to grow it all yourself.

This website

https://www.localharvest.org/

has a searchable data base so you can input your location and find a CSA (or farmer's market etc) near you. There are lots of them these days, but they generally aren't well publicized, so if you don't look for it, you won't know they are there.

The CSA I used to belong to grew 30 different veggies through the season. The half share we had was all the two of us could eat, plus some left over for freezing. The veggies were beautiful, fresh picked (often the day they were distributed to members). We could have had delivery, but it would have been significantly more expensive that way. We had a working share, which meant through the season we put in (total) 20 work hours, working in the fields under the direction of the farmer, which reduced the cost even more. For the working share we paid $250, up front, total for the season for all those veggies... Last year we didn't have a CSA and were just buying from farmer's market and were amazed how expensive everything was.