rydia131
Newly Registered

Container Gardening Question

Ok, so Id like to start off by saying that Im new to gardening and brand new to the forum (first post). So on to the question...

I live in an apartment and have been furiously planning a container garden. Ive bought 3 large storage bins for my garden and an assortment of smaller pots for various little things. The bins I bought are all pretty deep, approx 2.5 ft deep. So I was thinking about putting a layer of rocks in the bottom. I thought this would do two things, provide extra drainage and also save me money on soil. So is this a good idea? I havent seen this on any container gardening sites that ive looked at. If this isnt a good idea can anyone point me in a different direction? If this is a good idea can anyone give me any suggestions on where/what rocks to get? Or is this something where I could save a buck and just collect rocks? Sorry if this question isnt on par with the site. I just thought it was worth a try. Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions!!

MObeek
Cool Member

Welcome to the forum.

Try going to this link and see if it answers your question.

https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/v ... php?t=1854

applestar
Mod

Hmm... I usualy recommend AGAINST putting anything in the bottom of the container. That just makes the container shallower, you know? Less room for roots to grow.

Rocks will make the container heavier, too. Tubs filled with moist growing mix alone will be heavy, double or triple the weight by the time plants are growing well. On the other hand, you my NEED heavy weights on the bottom so the containers don't topple over when they get top-heavy.

I did a quick search (search box at the top of the page) using "Container what to put in bottom" and several threads popped up. I know we've talked about this before. You may want to try that and see if any of them match what you are thinking.